Sneaka Peeka!
| 7 Comments on Sneaka Peeka!
I’m making a handful of one-of-a-kind decorated bows. You’ll get to decide if the one you buy gets sent as a hairclip or giant pin (I wore mine as a giant pin on my skirt when I ran around the tradeshow). There will be all sorts of flavors and styles!! Once I get the bows decorated, I will get pics of EVERYTHING (bows, scarflets, necklaces, skirts, one-of-a-kind tees) and update the store! Almost there!!!
In other news, this was fun to read outloud: My Immortal. I know a lot of you probably already knew about this, but I am a complete stranger to the fan fic world, and this just about blew my top off! Enjoy!
Me Make Monster!
| 2 Comments on Me Make Monster!Hey, Gang!
Okay, so I know this is not an Etsy update post…but I’m working on it!! I’ve decided to do a ton of handsewn beading, so now it’s taking forever!!! AHHHH!!
Anyway, this post is about Jenny Harada’s book she is working on for F+W, called Me Make Monster! I will be contributing a pattern to it!! And if you go to her blog, it appears she is still looking for some mons-tributions!
I am not known for being a monster-maker, but I sort of combined my foodie tendencies with some creature features to come up with a fun (and hopefully not too confusing) project!
Here’s a sneakity peakity:

Sorry I never got a chance to take a decent picture of it!!! I concocted it and made samples of it in a hurry to ship it off!!
Last night, we unexpectedly ate dinner at Dessert Republic and then somehow ended up BOWLING!!!
I only had my phone to take a video snip, so here are a few seconds of Rock n Bowl for ya!
Um, I rule. That’s me with 2 strikes in a row. Unfortch, I didn’t make the turkey!

I leave you with a cute picture of Bibi….being … cute. Hairy had piled up some pillows for himself on the couch, and Bibi helped herself to them!
Shit, son! It’s ON!!!!!!
| 5 Comments on Shit, son! It’s ON!!!!!!Ok, this blog entry of Hairy’s is funny to me, because I have been taking pics of him and Bibi napping together since Bibi was wee.
I’ve been holding onto this gem for some time. Perfect moment to bust it out:
Fun Stuff Round Up + Las Vegas Wrap Up!
| 2 Comments on Fun Stuff Round Up + Las Vegas Wrap Up!
1. Pink Girlie Mirror by DestinationDesign
2. The Alexis Smith Dress by Thrush (saw this shop in Elsie’s blog
3. Cute Bumblebee Brooch from RedVelvetArt
4. “Ice Cream Cone Donuts from KawaiiNails.
5. Paisely Peacock Tulle Flower Headband by Tarina Tarantino.
6. Red Vintage Peep Toe Sandals from thelasthurrah.
7. Pattern for Felted Cow Bag! by sonicka.
8. Cream Colored Strapped Ankle Boots by thecrumpetcloset
On Tuesday, I flew to Las Vegas for the day to attend the MAGIC tradeshow. I wouldn’t normally go just for kicks, but my reps and I had a meeting with a company re: Twinkie Chan business, and they were kind enough to provide badges for us to attend. We walked the floor quite a bit and checked out a bunch of brands. I ran into Susan of ModCloth.com and also saw Ted from Poketo. Those were probably the only 2 peeps I actually knew there! I thought I saw Jamie from JapanLa, but she was talking to a bunch of girls and I didn’t manage to make eyecontact with her while we were walking by.
I was there for about 6 hours and really didn’t get to see everything! Maybe if I get the chance to go again (it happens twice a year), I will plan to spend a little more time and bring a pal!
After my meeting, which started a bit late, there was no time for dinner. I had to get back to the airport! The line for a cab was REAAALLLY long, like won’t-make-your-flight long. This one guy kept yelling that there was no line for a limo. When asked how much the limo ride was, he said $60. Split 4 ways with some other ladies from the tradeshow meant a mere $15, which was basically what I paid to take a cab earlier in the morning. SOLD!!! Smooth ride. No wait. Awesome tunes. What’s not to love?
My diet for the day consisted of a Starbuck’s blueberry scone, french fries around 3pm, and then 2 Mrs. Field’s cookies around 7:00. When I got home, Hairy made yummy Thai Food and we ate dinner at about 11:00. It was a carbtastic, long day!
I leave you with a sweet video clip of the limo party. I was actually nothing like a party, which made the setting even more funny.
(OK it’s really fuzzy and pixelated and basically looks like a sonogram. Sorry. It’s all I got.)
I hope my next blog update will be all about new stuff on ETSY!! I still need to finish some items and shoot photos of them all tomorrow!
Oh, P.S., here’s a photo that Hairy snapped of me when I got home from Vegas…..TIREDZ!!!! My head is on Bibi’s butt, and her head is on my knee. Nap snuggling!
Some Pics of the Cake Clutch in Progress!
| 13 Comments on Some Pics of the Cake Clutch in Progress!I wanted to take some progress pics of the cake clutch while the sun was still out. It’s not done yet. It still needs the zipper installed (which also has the cherry zipper danglies) and possibly a purse snap for the flap. The pom poms and button are just laying on top, un-attached.
Here was the sketch:

Here’s the real deal:

There’s a pocket inside, too. You can also see the D-rings to optionally snap on a chain.

It actually came out a bit smaller than I had planned! But it’s still pretty cute. I carried a mohair blend with gold sparklies along with my Cascade 220 in the white layer cake. Pink + gold = <3
I also decided to make a zipper pouch (no zipper yet). No pocket inside. No flap. Just a pouch. It also came out pretty cute. The cookie button is just laying on top for the pic. I don't think I'm keeping it. Now I kinda want to stick a pearl there!

I carried a blue mohair blend with silver sparklies in the Cascade 220 for the blue “frosting.” The mohair blend with sparklies is pretty cool! But it’s also $20+ a ball, so I don’t think I would use it regularly. I might try to find a sparkle alternative.
So yup, I gotta sew in some zippers, maybe glue some pom poms, and I’m set! The blue one is still damp, but, it’s the best I can do for my trip tomorrow!
I’m still working on a grapefruit scarf to take, too.
So I must go. But I will leave you with this important message:
(Yeah… that was actually part of a 4 minute long video about my weird wallet collection, which I decided was boring!)
(p.s. anyone know a WordPress plug-in for automatically adding a signature at the bottom of your journal entry? I’d uploaded my Twinkie Chan “signature” onto Photobucket, but apparently I ran out of bandwidth. Would be great to not have to enter it in for every entry!)





