Renegade Craft Fair, San Francisco (re-cap!)

| 45 Comments on Renegade Craft Fair, San Francisco (re-cap!)

I wish I had taken more video and more photos! Oh well!

It was kind of a whirlwind weekend. The night before the fair, I was finishing up my t-shirts, heat-sealing the ends of ribbon over a cupcake candle, printing photos for my album, and Hairy and I even dragged out all the big pieces of booth furniture into the garage to figure out how to lay everything out!

I think the booth turned out pretty well for not having been planned very well… 😛 There are things I would change and futz with. I would want to focus more on how the inside of the fridge was displayed and organized, but all in all, I think a lot of people were really delighted we even had a real fridge!

I had a difficult time figuring out how to display the ice cream cone scarf in the freezer and still have it look cute. It’s a small, deep space, so it didn’t highlight that scarf very well :(. Also, I’m so sorry I wasn’t able to put my customer pics on the fridge. I discovered that the inside of the fridge door is not magnetic!!! I could have taped all the faux-laroids to the inside of the door which was visible, but I didn’t want to ruin the pics, either. I have to think about how to deal with that later!

Here’s me and Nel/becausemaybe. I’d never met her in person before, but we are internetz buddies! There she is being goofy in her salad cowl/neckwarmer!

Okay, that’s a terrible photo of me, but I had to get a picture of these guys. They are awesome! They are Jules’ god sons. We talked about finger-weaving, and the younger one is crocheting!!! I love that!!! They were really polite and nice. I loved them!

Here’s me and the gal who wanted me to sign her layer cake tissue cozy. So sweet! She was very nice and patient as Manda tried to figure out the video/photo settings on my camera! I think this was the first time someone asked me to sign a crochet piece! It was kind of hard to write on crochet…I was so afraid I was just messing it all up and drawing an ink blob!

When these guys approached the booth, I felt like I was going to get the smack down from the Color Mafia!!! How cool do they all look together with their candy rainbow hair!? I’m always delighted to see Marissa and Josh, and I was uber-delighted to finally meet Irene and also another Stephanie who also has a bf named Matt!

My last photo is of Dorklandia’s ice cream cart!!! This was such a GENIUS idea!!! She made ice-cream plushies and kits for making the plushies, and she pushed this ice cream cart around and ringed her bell all over the fair. MY GOD!!! SO BRILLIANT!!!! I couldn’t stop going on about how I thought she was the smartest person at the fair!

I do have a short video montage, but since I’m still on Hairy’s computer, I can’t get it to save and upload properly. Will have to wait until I get my own computer back, I think!

Hairy and I ran around the other booths really quickly, in like 15 minutes!!!! There were SOOO many booths. You could have shopped for hours. I am sure I missed a lot. But I just felt bad about leaving anyone else to man my booth while I shopped. I need to get over that. I want to see everyone else’s goodies!

It was really cool to be able to see other people try my scarves on, though. I don’t get to see a lot of that. Everyone looked so cute in them!!! I really appreciate everyone who came by to say hi. I got to meet MaryBeth who I’d bought stuff from on etsy before, Debbie who makes AWESOME cakes, Star who I know to be an amazing digital artist but from glancing at her blog seems to be a mistress of many talents, my amazing helpers Rita and Catherine who visited from Las Vegas, and now my brain becomes mush so I’m sorry if I forget to name names and post URLs!!! Oh yeah, I hope Amy posts her photos before 2010. She asked me to Vanna White next to my sign/banner and promised all unflattering and unclassy photos to be posted to the infamous internet.

SOOOOOOO now!!! I will post all the leftover goodies to ETSY!!! AND!! BONUS!!!! I will keep the reduced craft-fair prices for ONE WEEK!!!! So Stay tuned!!! I have to run to the bank, but then I’ll come home, snap some photos of stuff, and start posting the goods. I will blog, twitter, and mailing list when stuff is up!

c

One Peek from Renegade Craft Fair

| 6 Comments on One Peek from Renegade Craft Fair

There should be some fun photos from Day 1 of Renegade. I also have some funny video clips, but I am too tired to pull anything off my camera. I basically got no sleep last night!! This is from Hairy’s iPhone:

More later: me spitting out a turkey sandwich, Manda waxing philosophically about crochet, Amy Shrinkle and I jumping in the air looking classy.

Stay tuned!

Inspiring Yourself Toward Cuteness & Relaxation!

| 15 Comments on Inspiring Yourself Toward Cuteness & Relaxation!

I so feel the exact opposite of this picture right now!!! Deep breath!

Off to do a zillion things!!!!!!

(Adorable strawberry playsuit by SewOeno. It’s completely awesome, but my thighs are still a little fat for it to be seen in public. Tight elastic = not cute. Is it bad to use clothing as inspiration for exercise….??)

ChanBurger Tee

| 10 Comments on ChanBurger Tee

Preview of the Twinkie ChanBurger tee! I have to wait to affix the lettuce bows, and I’m not quite sure yet how I want to attach them, be it sewn on permanently, or pinned with safety pins for removal.

Sometimes when I have t-shirts with pins, I just don’t put the pins back on. But if people didn’t put the bows back on, their burger would be lettuce-less and naked!!!!

If I sew them in, I think it will all lay more neatly, but then people would DEFINITELY have to handwash their tee, and people probably think that is a pain in the rear, although, I have bought t-shirts that said dry clean only!

Some people on Twitter suggested snaps. I like that idea, but (a) I don’t really have time to sew on 40 snaps before Saturday, and (b) I’m afraid you’d be able to see the snap behind the bow.

I’ll keep thinking on it and decide tomorrow!

Here is a salad cowl I made for the fair. There is a light green one and a dark green one. Wish I had time to make more, but now I have to focus on booth design and promotional materials!

I got my hair cut and colored today at Dekko and while Jules was twirling my hair and making it big, she said, “I’m making you look like a crazy cow! Don’t Twitter this!!” HAhaha! Okay, I HAD TO MENTION IT!!!

Uh, this is what I look like now.

Sometimes when you are busy, you just need to get all the hair out of your face and put on your pajama pants.

5 a.m. = time to quit!

| 28 Comments on 5 a.m. = time to quit!

I have been sewing labels and writing out tags for HOURS!!!! And I still have a big ol’ box of stuff left to label and tag!! Holy Bejesus! I wish I were ok with just GLUING the labels on instead of sewing. That would save time, but would be super ghetto.

I have a LOT of stuff for the fair, which is great! But there are still so many more things I want to add!! Ha! There’s probably no time, tho. Right now I”m focusing on labeling and tagging what I have, printing out photos, planning out the space, fixing up the fridge. I guess if I can finish all that by tomorrow, I can make more stuff on Thursday and Friday. Highly doubtful, tho!

I’m also getting my hair cut and colored on Thursday. I can’t really crochet there. There’s a lot of sitting involved in the color process, but I’m too afraid of getting bleach or dye on anything. Maybes I’ll try anyway. It’s too bad I don’t have confidence in myself or Hairy to bleach my roots at home!

I so cannot afford to cut and color my hair, AND go to the periodontist next week, but oh well! These are what I deem NECESSITIES OF LIFE!!! Oh man, I just remembered I have to buy flea/heartworm stuff or the dogs, too. I have spent A LOT of money on this fair already… but Hairy says that as far as advertising goes, it’s all worth it. I hope so! He has been working hard every night screen-printing shirts for me for the fair. I can’t wait to see how everything turns out! This is the first time in my life where the balance on my credit card is scaring me, and I’m like embarrassed about it. We also had to buy plane tix and book hotel rooms for my friend’s wedding in Houston. Oy! Hopefully doing a major clothing sale in the next few weeks will help a wee bit. I have a LOT of cute stuff that I just don’t wear or have the space for!

I’m gonna try to go to sleep so that I don’t wake up too late tomorrow.

Sorry for the weird rambling and financial freak out. It’s late/early, and I’ve had two cups of Vietnamese Insta coffee tonight!!!

To top