BF and BFF BDay Extravaganza!
| 14 Comments on BF and BFF BDay Extravaganza!So Manda and Hairy have bdays one day apart. I sorta feel bad cuz I feel like their special days get melded together, but at least we all like each other’s presence, so it works out okay!
For Manda’s Bday we went to our favorite, bro-y, Palo Alto spots: Miyake and Blue Chalk. Miyake is a sushi bar where the highlights are not the food, but the fog machine, disco lights, and drunk 20somethings standing on chairs while chanting about and downing SAKE BOMBS! Let’s just say that this evening has led to MANY a good story. It is so incriminating, that all infos remain top secret. All I will write here as a placemarker for our memories is:

A loooong time ago Manda once requested that I make her a scarf, so I finally made good on that request for her bday present: a rainbow cupcake scarf!! Some of the colors, like red and orange, look the same in this photo, but rest assured, there were 8 different colors of cupcakes in this thing!

Manda has ALWAYS loved rainbows, for as far as I can remember. If I had online access to her giant photo collection from college, I would have showed you the rainbow painted on her face and her giant favorite blue plaid overalls!
For Hairy’s bday, we had dinner at Farmer Brown whose tag line is “farm-fresh soul food.”
You always win with beverages served in mason jars. I got an Arnold Palmer!

Instead of bread, they serve you little jalapeno corn bread muffins. They were warm and yummy!

Due to the dark lighting conditions, we didn’t really get any other pics except of this hot sauce:

Manda and I got fried chicken with mac n cheese and southern greens, and Hairy got a pulled pork sandwich with housemade potato chips as well as two sides: brussel sprouts and cheezy grits! We also shared some sweet potato steak fries. Yum yum! Since we are giant pigs, we also got dessert: one red velvet cake and one meyer lemon cheesecake, and some french press coffee. Holy. Wow.
To end this entry on a high note, my prezzie to Hairy was a 6 month-membership to the Cheese of the Month club. I used to ban cheese from my house because I love it so much and will eat it till I am a thousand pounds, so I have no excuse for the evil I have introduced into our household. I promise to blog about our monthly cheese delivery (3 kinds of cheese each month!!!!).

I kinda want to put the happy cheese on a tshirt!
Love for Cinema
| 14 Comments on Love for CinemaLast night Hairy and I went to see Youth in Revolt, the latest movie with Michael Cera. It’s based on a book by CD Payne that I’d started to read like 7 or 8 years ago but never finished. I remember thinking the voice was HYSTERICAL, but working in publishing means you never have time to read :). I passed it along to Hairy once I found out they were turning it into a movie, so at least one of us has read the whole thing!
There are some funny one-liners in the movie. You should see it if you’re up for a movie with snappy dialogue, but no explosions or love ballads by Celine Dion.

Hairy had asked me to hold his hot dog for a sec, and then I realized I was holding a hot dog and a popcorn and I felt like a big piggie, so of course, I demanded a photo!
Then I gave Hairy his hot dog back and made him pose with his hot dog, Sweet Tarts, AND the chocolate bar he brought in! HAHA.

I used to NEVER buy food at the movies, until I met Hairy. Now we’re just gross and disgusting. Also he turned 35 today. Hee hee heeeeee. I’ll show you what I got him and Manda for their bdays tomorrow!
Fun Stuff Round Up!
| 23 Comments on Fun Stuff Round Up!Hooooo boy! Someone recently twittered, “What a difference a day makes.” So true so true! Ups. Downs. Coming back arounds. Life is a whirlwind! I’ve also been collaborating on new logos, new packaging, now I need to make new samples. Crazy crazy crazy.
Last night I went out with some ladies. Most of our ladies had to wake up early to go to work so nobody wanted to go out. Michelle had to get up early, but she was still rarin’ to go. She said we were the dreamers of dreams. I said we were the silliers of silly. She said we are the go-ers of 84. We got a later start than we hoped since I’d been down on the peninsula with Manda, but we finally made it out.
Didn’t go to bed until like 4am and then had to get up at 8:00am to greet the dude who came to fix our gas fireplace. Sweet!! Now it can be roasty toasty up in here!!
I will be crocheting up a storm for the next 10 days. Time for lots of bandaids and under-eye bags. In the meantime, here’s a Fun Stuff Round Up. Click on the pics to go to the sites! xo
I kinda really want this pink coat:

I wanna rock this dress so hard!

Of all the posses to be in, this ain’t a bad one:

I know what you’re thinking. This is scary. SO SCARY IT’S AWESOME.

Soft Pretzels and Candysprinkle Sunglasses
| 26 Comments on Soft Pretzels and Candysprinkle SunglassesWhen we went to William Sonoma to pick up Dutch Baby mix for my family’s white elephant gift exchange, Hairy also picked up a bag of this Dutch Country Soft Pretzel Mix. There’s also a gluten-free version.
They were really PUFFY!!! And a little bit sweet, but very very tasty. Thumbs up, A+!
In less edible news, I had to make some more pink pastry weepuls, so I decided to also finally try to put “sprinkles” on some sunglasses!! I’ve been wanting to do this for a long while but never got around to it. I have been bored of my regular glasses for a while, and thought I might experiment with beads. Since I have a little photoshoot coming up in L.A. next week, I decided to have a go at the glasses. I wish I could find beads that really actually super duper looked like sprinkles (more like opaque, rainbow bugle beads), but I haven’t had much luck yet!
But I think that for the shoot, they will be ok, if we decide to use them!
I’ve been thinking of some fun little things to try out for Valentine’s Day. I probably won’t have a big V-Day update on Etsy because I have so much side-stuff going on (like the sales people at my publisher ordered a lot of scarves!), but I hope to squeak out a heart or two!
I have been feeling like a huge fatty lately and Hairy and I finally got around to going to the exercise room in our building the other night….and the treadmill is BROKEN!! IS IT A SIGN!!?!? No, probably not. It was just kinda funny. Funny in the “oh that really sucks!” way….
Anyhoozits, I am off to start a bacon and eggs scarf!
Happy new year, a-holes!
| 25 Comments on Happy new year, a-holes!
We ate dinner at Dessert Republic and then discovered it was 11:30pm. We had no plan. I think me and Manda were ok with going home, but Hairy was hell-bent on at least finding a dive bar in which to ring in the new year.
As is tradition when the three of us are together on NYE, Manda, Hairy, and I ended being not inside any venue when the clock struck midnight. We were still walking the streets after parking the car. Oh well! Then we went into Butter for an after NYE drink. I didn’t even get the right drink.
We watched a lot of hizzos dance on the bar top in very short skirts.
On the way out, we hit up Crepes A Go Go. While waiting in line, this random girl walked up to us, said hello, and said, “My friend is not an asshole.”
What?
She proceeded to explain that she overheard Manda and I calling her man-friend an asshole because he stepped in front of us in line.
In reality, Manda and I had no idea about her man-friend, and were talking about something completely different, and I don’t even remember saying the word asshole.
She CONTINUED TO INSIST that we called her friend an asshole, and that he wasn’t. It was SO BIZARRE. I was so confused and incredulous. I kept trying to explain that we had no clue about her whatever her friend was doing. Finally she smiled and said, “It doesn’t matter. Happy new year,” in a super passive-aggressive and bitchy way, and then Manda told her her eyeshadow was pretty.
And then we spent the next half hour trying to think of what would have been a better reaction. I suggested barfing on her. Or suddenly speaking in broken English. Or calling her an asshole. I asked Hairy what George Constanza’s well-thought-out come-back was from Seinfeld. Apparently it was something like, “Th Jerk-store called and they want YOU back!”
Anyway, dirty ho’s and people-who-butt-into-your-conversation-to-start-random-crap are a nice way to start the year! 😛










