Announcing: Yummy You! by Twinkie Chan
| 135 Comments on Announcing: Yummy You! by Twinkie ChanSooooo I have been alluding to a big announcement for a little while, and I wanted to wait for some of the paperwork to clear up before mentioning anything. Then, I lagged on saying anything because I got mired in the stress of it all, and then it didn’t seem like such exciting news anymore…. and then it was like… what is the statute of limitations on hinting at something exciting….being able to announce it…and then failing to mention it anymore and let it fade and pretend like you never mentioned it in the first place? Hehehe, Ok maybe I over-think!
Anyhoodles….!!! My news is this:
YummyYou! by Twinkie Chan
There’s not really anything up there yet, just a placeholder, but everything has been happening at lightning speed and this is all I got right now! 😛 (btw….does the pic have a blue-ish hue to you? Let me know how it appears on your monitors!!! I am still having weird color issues I think!)
So yes, I partnered with a company to help me mass-produce (but still hand-make) my scarves and stuff and bring it to a bigger level. It’s what I’ve wanted for a long time, and I’m excited and scared that it is starting to happen. I could have tried to go bigger on my own, but I really didn’t want to end up spending all my time managing more helpers, dealing with quality control, handling fulfillment on a larger scale, etc. In fact, perhaps un-like many crafters, I never really dreamed of running my own business. I don’t have the entrepreneurial blood. I have the creative blood! Some people have both. I kinda don’t :P. I want to have lots of time to design new things…and considering how long it takes me to design/make ONE scarf … I need all the time I can get!
We went into super warp-drive, because the company was excited, and we were excited that they were excited, and we are prepping for a booth at the Pool Tradeshow (or the Magic Tradeshow) in Vegas on February 16-18. We kind of attempted to create something out of nothing in just TWO MONTHS. Sourcing the crochet goods. Making/designing new and exciting samples you’ve never seen before. Designing tees and hoodies. Packaging. Everything. It’s been crazy. Plus I’ve been working on my book! So this is why my Etsy shop has been like a ghost town!
The cool thing is that you will soon be able to get all your favorite Twinkie Chan goodies at a more affordable price, and there will definitely be more than, like, two cupcake scarves available at one time :).
I will still be here as Twinkie Chan, with my Etsy shop, designing new stuffs and handmaking old-favorites. Yummy You! will be the icing on the proverbial cake :).
So I can’t wait to share more about all of this as it happens! It’s really weird and bizarre and I have no idea how it will all pan out. But my goal for 2009, when I quit my publishing job, was to find a great company to work with, and I met that goal. 2010 will be a wild ride! It has been so far!
P.S. If there are cool/cute boutiques in your area that you think would love to carry Yummy You! by Twinkie Chan, please do leave a comment, and a link to it if possible. THANK YOU! 🙂 Happy Friday!

Check out this cute new Etsy shop!!!!!!
| 4 Comments on Check out this cute new Etsy shop!!!!!!You guys. I am so pumped to post this!! My friend and crochet-helper Marissa has FIIIIIINNNNAAALLLLLY put up her new Etsy shop!!!!!!!
You’ll be sad if you don’t check it out.
When I vended at the New People/Bazaar Bizarre event, I displayed some of her items on my table, and I ended up buying a pin :).
I have one that looks kinda like this one:

but they are all one of a kind, so no two alike!
BibiTV
| 13 Comments on BibiTVHere is a video clip of Bibi and I playing tuggy the other day.
She especially likes to invite you to play tuggy when you are your most busy.
Also, while I was working tonight, Love and Other Disasters came on the tube, and I saw My Dream Jacket!!!!! Does anybody know anything about this coat??!??!
Fun Stuff Round Up!
| 9 Comments on Fun Stuff Round Up!Doing some taxes today (yeah I waited till the last minute…) so here’s some fun stuff I rounded up!!!
(p.s. I broke down and started a Formspring page thingie for people to ask me questions, anonymously if desired!
Click on the images to go to their pages!
Less sleep = Less Filter for Bad Photobooth Photos
| 39 Comments on Less sleep = Less Filter for Bad Photobooth PhotosThis weekend my big project has been to do all my California sales tax stuffs and also take photos for the book, so I took about ten bazillion (okay, more like 800) the past two nights and have been editing them as I go.
My goals for 2010 were to get better at knitting and to learn how to sew on a sewing machine.
But I need to make my two other goals: actually learn about photography and my camera, and actually learn how to photoshop properly!!!
I basically just wing everything and make it up as I go, but I’m starting to get really sensitive about how shoddy my work is, so I need to work on those skills when I have more time!
For now, since a lot of you probably don’t follow me on Twitter or see my TwitPics, I’ll dump some Photobooth pics on you. Every now and again while I’m working, I’ll take a random snap or two on the webcam! Please note, these are all usually taken well past 4am, 5am, or even 6am!


Yes, Bibi does help with work by simply oozing cuteness and wrinkles. And she does have a tiny booboo on her forehead. When I take her to my parents’ house to run around in the yard, she likes to dart in and out of the bushes and doesn’t care if it rips up her head!! We joke about needing to get her a special outdoor helmet….


Okay, this is when I was showing Candace my teeth because she didn’t think they were crooked. The she said this look was bad-ass cuz it looked like the Avatar angry face. AHAAHHHAHHA.

Okay, my goal for the book photos was to wear a different outfit for every item I had to shoot, and have that outfit actually coordinate or look okay with that item. It was kinda hard, and I just ended up snapping photos of several items with each outfit. I thought a long time about what to shoot my Bomb Pop scarf in….and ultimately I decided to try to evoke summertime and popsicles by wearing a bathing suit. I NEVER WEAR A BATHING SUIT. I don’t like the sun and I don’t intend to hang out in it. Plus I have become really big-thighed and I am embarrassed to show anything above my shins in public. Sooo, I also put on shorts. Bathing suit with cut-out sides + shorts = MUFFIN TOP CITY!!!!! I swear, the actual photos don’t look this scary, but I was really scared of my own self at the time. This was probably at like 5:30 in the morning after having already shoot a couple hundred other photos.

Ummm ok, Hairy took this next one with his phone. I LOVE this dress, and it looks totally fine when it’s on me, but I can’t for the life of me get it off myself. It’s like it suctions on like a second skin or something. I ran upstairs to ask Hairy for help, cuz this was as far as I could go!!! After he showed me the pic, I told him he wasn’t allowed to post it anywhere cuz it was so embarassing and my belly is all over the place, but after 24 hrs, now I just think it’s funny!

And finally, after burning your eyes out with the above picture, I will leave you with an actually cute outfit. HAhahha. This was mere minutes after I was in the bathing suit.















